Quality junior cricket

LYNDOCH Cricket Club hosted its eighth under-14 six-a-side competition recently.

Six teams competed this year, including Gawler Central, South Gawler, Nuriootpa, Eudunda-Robertstown, Gilbert Valley and Lyndoch.

The quality of the cricket was very high, with great stroke play and brilliant fielding on display.

All teams tied down the opposition batters, which, in many cases, led to very tight games.

The game between Nuriootpa and Eudunda- Robertstown went right down to the wire.

Batting first, Nuriootpa put on a very competitive total, before tying the game, with the ball, with one wicket remaining.

However, incoming batter Nikki Grosser absorbed the pressure, finding a gap at point for the winning run.

Meanwhile, Gilbert Valley bowler Danyon Greenslade put on an outstanding performance.

In the opening over of an innings, Danyon took two wickets, both bowled, with the resulting pressure seeing a run out as well.

The day also produced the competition’s first hat-trick, with Gawler Central’s Xander Bates having a magic spell, bowling two batters out and trapping another LBW.

There was also some great stroke play on display – Lyndoch’s Josh Longo and Eudunda-Robertstown’s Jack Mosey were standouts.

Longo scored 98 runs and Mosey 57, from across the two pool games, with neither being dismissed in these games.

The final, eventually, was played between Lyndoch and Eudunda-Robertstown.

Batting first, Lyndoch had a quick start with Longo (61) hitting some towering sixes.

When he was finally dismissed, from a fine outfield catch, Eudunda-Robertstown put the brakes on the scoring, leaving them 92 runs for victory.

Openers Mosey (33 not out) and Angus Handke (52 not out) kept the required run rate in check with good shot selection and strong stroke play, chasing down the runs.

Handke was awarded the player of the final for his fine knock, and for picking up two wickets.

Other award winners included Longo, who topped the batting aggregate and average.

The bowling aggregate was won by Nuriootpa’s Kyle Butler for his four wickets, and the bowling average was won by Bates.

Related posts